50 Rules for Dads of Daughters

1. Love her mom. Treat her mother with respect, honor, and a big heaping spoonful of public displays of affection. When she grows up, the odds are good she’ll fall in love with and marry someone who treats her much like you treated her mother. Good or bad, that’s just the way it is. I’d prefer good.

Check this out:  50 Rules for Dads of Daughters

Brittany passed this on to me about a year back. There’s some great advice here that will bring a smile to your face. It’s a good reminder that its often the little things that make memories and speak the love and affirmation that will sustain her as she grows up.

What do you think? Any rules that you would add? Any you’d debate?

A few of my thoughts:

  • #6 – I’m really looking forward to teaching her to throw like a boy. We’ve got the glove already. It’s a Rawlings, pink and flashes brightly when you catch a ball. A solid thrift store buy.

    39. Holding her upside down by the legs while she giggles and screams uncontrollably is great for your biceps. WARNING: She has no concept of muscle fatigue.

  • #10 – Enjoy the wonder of bath time. I always choose bath time for Gracie over doing the dishes! Brittany is kind enough to offer me that deal.
  • #18 – So true! I try to remember to tell her she’s beautiful when I put her to bed. An added thought – if you choose to not objectify women, she’s more likely to believe you when you say she’s beautiful.
  • # 28. Yes – it’s a nice idea to never be late from work, but part of raising her well is demonstrating hard work and commitment. This means there will be times you will be late. I’ll revise this and say – don’t make a habit of being late. Agree? Disagree?
  • #33 I think I’ll pass and leave the swimming suit shopping in ‘Mom’ territory.
  • #44 – writing a letter to her each birthday… I had planned to do this, and then her first birthday came and went. I’d better get on that.
  • #1 This is the best one all. I think that if you want her to grow up with confidence and to one day choose a man who will respect her than model for her every day exactly what such a relationship looks like. May God give me the grace to live this well.
  • For # 51, I’d add: Making silly noises together should become a favourite shared hobby. You’ll both bust a gut laughing as she tries to imitate you.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 50 Rules for Dads of Daughters

  1. Candice Blyde says:

    My reply resembles my own blog entry. As a girl who loved(s) her Dad and as a Mom with a father of a soon to be teenager, here are some of my thoughts:
    11. We have 3 cats, 2 budgies and a hamster. Do you think we should ask for a puppy?
    12. Caught Stu watching ” Say Yes to the Dress”. HAHA. He’s tv shopping with us.
    15. Raven danced with Stu at our wedding. This is not my recommendation for most Christian families, but it was a memorable moment from ours.
    16. This is something I did with my Dad and a certain Red Sovine song comes to mind….
    20. Leave the Ipod at home? But how would Stu play with Raven then?
    30. Stu missed a birthday once. He went to PK with Dennis and came home a man of God. I think she can forgive that one.
    33. Girls need to know what boys see. Mom saying that if they can see your boobs, they will want to touch them is not enough.
    34. Nah. Do the mock ceremony. Dress up. Rings and all.
    41.LOL
    42. Stu says he disagrees with this, but I know when the time comes, he will welcome her home with open arms.
    47. Stu! 47! and 48!
    -Candice

  2. Stu Blyde says:

    I don’t disagree with 42. I just encourage independence. If she needs to come home, she’s welcome, banana. And I asked her about the ice cream. Oi…

  3. ryanjantzi says:

    I thought of one more rule – make lots of baby sandwiches (or kid sandwiches as they grow up) Sound unusual? Baby sandwiches are when Gracie gets sandwiched in the middle of a mommy and daddy hug. So far, I think we enjoy it more than she does 🙂

Leave a Reply

