Daddy Song #2: Yellowcard – Life of a Salesman

Every son longs to hear his dad speak words of affirmation over him. Every father wants to hear his boy say “I want to be like you, daddy!”

I’ve got a song here, “Life of a Salesman” by Yellowcard. 

I really like it for a few reasons. First, its fun, high-energy fiddle rock. A violin has a way of taking “just another” rock song to the next level. Second, this song gives a beautiful picture of a healthy relationship between a son and his Father.

Have you ever read/seen the classic Arthur Miller play – “Death of a Salesman”? It’s a tragic tale of a dad who places his hope in the unrealistic expectations he heaps on his sons. It’s a tragic tale of the trauma that stems from a boy’s faith in his dad as a man of integrity being dashed.

In a stark contrast, Yellowcard sings about the Life of a Salesman. This is a picture of a boy who readily says he is proud of his Father. It is a son who declares that it was his Father who showed him how to be a better man. It is a son who wants to listen to his dad, who wants to follow his dad.

It is my blessing to say that I can sing along with this song as my own story. It is my prayer that someday I may have a son with whom this song also resonates.

If you have a hard time catching the words, they’re posted below.

What’s a dad for dad?
Tell me why I’m here dad
Whisper in my ear that I’m growing up to be a better man, dad
Everything is fine dad
Proud that you are mine dad
Cause I know I’m growing up to be a better man

Father I will always be
That same boy that stood by the sea
And watched you tower over me
Now I’m older I wanna be the same as you

What’s a dad for dad?
Taught me how to stand, dad
Took me by the hand and you showed me how to be a bigger man, dad
Listen when you talk, dad
Follow where you walk, dad
And you know that I will always do the best I can
I can

Father I will always be 
That same boy that stood by the sea
watched you tower over me 
Now I’m older I wanna be the same as you
The same as you

When I am a dad, dad
I’m gonna be a good dad
Did the best you could, dad 
Always understood, dad
Taught me what was right, dad 
Opened up my eyes, dad 
Glad to call you my dad 
Thank you for my life dad

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

